cogs in the machine [wind ensemble]


Original price was: $50.00.Current price is: $20.00.

Categories: , , Tag:


This download includes two (2) files:

  • PDF of score. 56 pages (incl. cover and front matter). 8.5×14 in.
  • PDF of all parts. 99 pages (each part is 4-5 pages). 8.5×11 in.


Flute 1 & 2
Clarinet 1 in E-flat
Clarinet 2 & 3 in B-flat
Bass Clarinet
Soprano Sax
Alto Sax
Tenor Sax
Baritone Sax
Horn 1 & 2
Trumpet 1 & 2 in C
Trombone 1 & 2
Perc 1: woodblock, triangle, sleighbells, maracas, bass drum
Perc 2: hi-hat, suspended cymbal, cowbell, brake drum
Perc 3: snare, 3 tom-toms

Duration: 6 minutes

Grade: V


Excerpt (reading by East Carolina University Symphonic Wind Ensemble) – m. 206 to end.

Program note:
The expression “cog in the machine” is used by workers to describe themselves as insignificant, even unhuman parts of an organization. This piece reflects each player’s yearning for purpose in the “machine” of a wind ensemble. There are few solos, but numerous small ensembles playing short figures that create larger, undulating harmonies. Through collective action, the players aspire to make something greater than themselves. The piece is based on a Bach chorale which begins “Ah, how fleeting, ah how insignificant is the life of mankind!”

You may also like…